Central Healthcare Emergency Planning Region

The Commonwealth of Virginia has six designated healthcare emergency planning regions with a healthcare coalition that operates within each region. Below is a map of the regional boundaries and a listing of all jurisdictions falling within the Central Region.

The CVHC’s region encompasses 27 jurisdictions.  The CVHC works with the emergency response agencies that serve these jurisdictions, including Law Enforcement, Emergency Management, Fire/EMS and Public Health, on a regular basis during pre-planning, exercising, training, and response.


  • Amelia County
  • Brunswick County
  • Buckingham County
  • Charles City County
  • Charlotte County
  • Chesterfield County
  • Colonial Heights City
  • Cumberland County
  • Dinwiddie County
  • Emporia City
  • Goochland County
  • Greensville County
  • Halifax County
  • Hanover County
  • Henrico County
  • Hopewell City
  • Lunenburg County
  • Mecklenburg County
  • New Kent County
  • Nottoway County
  • Petersburg City
  • Powhatan County
  • Prince Edward County
  • Prince George County
  • Richmond City
  • Surry County
  • Sussex County